Foodie Review: Peck 47

I have only been in Brussels for about two weeks, and the one spot that I have officially come back to on three different occasions is the one and only Peck 47. If you’re spending your day sightseeing around Brussels and you happen to be looking for breakfast, lunch, or a place to unwind, I would strongly recommend giving Peck 47 a chance.

Location:
Rue du Marché aux Poulets 47, 1000 Bruxelles

  • Located just a few minutes from Manneken Pis (teeny tiny peeing boy statue) and Grand Place, this place is ideal on a sunny day.

Vibe:

  • The decor of this little cafe is artsy, featuring a number of modern / minimalist movie posters, a huge sign that says “Follow Your Dreams”, a sassy Lana Del Ray poster, as well as a chalkboard wall featuring two rabbits having a cute conversation (fully equipped with googley eyes). 
  • The staff is SO friendly. Every time I’ve been there, they have been more than happy to chat, explain the menu as well as recommend items depending on your likes / dislikes / mood.
  • I would say that it’s totally fine to come in here by yourself with a book, or even a lap top and get some work done (as long as you don’t mind the chitter chatter of other people in the cafe.

Food / Drink:

Before I start, I have to say – the reason I picked this as the first place to write about is because I have never had a negative experience with the food. It’s all absolutely amazing.

  • They have a unique little selection of fresh juices and smoothies. I have tried the Watermelon, Lime and Lemongrass juice (which is SO refreshing, not overly sweet, and feels like a shot of hydration) as well as the Vanilla, Lemon and Basil smoothie (very smooth, light, and slightly sweet). They do also always have fresh squeezed lemonade, which appeared to be mixed with raspberries today.  
  • Tea tea tea tea TEA (and lattes, of course). Although I am typically a latte girl, which is what I got the first time there and it was delicious, the Peck 47 menu features an extremely unique selection of teas. I had the “Mademoiselle” tea, which was light, fruity and decadent. This is a place where you will find teas that you can’t find elsewhere. They’re also €2.50 a cup, so it can’t get better than that.   
  • Fooooood. I’m such a foodie, and I basically melt of happy feels when something looks good on a plate. Peck 47 definitely did not disappoint in this department. I would recommend the “Mediterranean Veg” salad (which is full of quinoa goodness), as well as “The Pecker” salad which my friend Kyle raved about. If salads aren’t you forte, there’s a sandwich called Kevin Bacon (genius) as well as Cheesy Waffles (which people online rave about but I have yet to try). 
  • And of course, there’s always a bit of room for dessert. I tried some of the dark chocolate orange cake which was a lot lighter than it sounds and I would imagine that it would pair amazingly with some breakfast / black tea. They also have a vegan green tea cake which seems to be popular within the cafe.

Let me know if you visit this cute little spot and happen upon something amazingly delicious that I need to try!

-Positively Curvy

Leave a Reply

